project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Suggestions
21 Sep 2024, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Developer Blogs Members List Search Quick Links
PR:BF2 Suggestions Suggestions from our community members for PR:BF2. Read the stickies before posting.

Old 2008-06-01, 16:18   #1
Tartantyco
Default Modern use of minefields

-Having served as a Combat Engineer I disapprove greatly with the way mines are used in PR as it is hardly realistic and removes a lot of strategic and tactical elements, as well as opportunities for teamwork. However, I don't have a good idea of how to more realistically portray the use of mines in PR so while I'm thinking a little I'll just share with you how they are actually used.

-In modern warfare the role of mines/minefields is rarely to destroy/incapacitate enemy vehicles, but rather to deny access. In accordance with international conventions anti-personnel mines are illegal and minefields are to be clearly marked and mapped as mines kill indiscriminately, are on the whole ineffective at killing enemy soldiers or destroying vehicles(In relation to other methods), kill mostly civilians, and make land unusable for decades.

-Minefields are to be clearly marked with bright tape surrounding the area and signs at regular intervals. Minefields come in several "flavors," including, but not limited to, full minefields with a large amount of mines covering the entire field, either on the ground or buried(These take a long time to deploy and use up a lot of material but means the enemy will take a long time clearing a passage), minefields with few mines scattered across the field(Using up less material to deny access but can be breached more quickly), and dummy minefields where only the marking has been set up(Little material used but will be breached quickly).