project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Suggestions
19 Sep 2024, 00:00:00 (PRT)
PR:BF2 Suggestions Suggestions from our community members for PR:BF2. Read the stickies before posting.

Old 2005-11-20, 20:57   #1
Artnez
Supporting Member

Default Low-res models of destroyed vehicles & dead infantry.

I was thinking about how important it is to have destroyed vehicles and bodies throughout the map. It signifies that an area might be a threat.

I was thinking if it's possible to take the vehicles in PR and make the destroyed view of these vehicles as low-poly and simple as possible (so that they dont hog the PC).

The same goes for infantry. Once they really "die", they would switch to a much more low poly mod.

Is this possible?

"Having the piss taken out of you is a small price to pay when others do your research. Thank you gentlemen." - Azametric(IRL)
Artnez is offline Reply With Quote
Old 2005-11-20, 21:27   #2
Stu007

im no programmer, but Im sure it would be possible, instead of the body "fade-away" just switch to the low poly model, but they'd have to dissapear sometime, because you would have dead clones if you died twice or more, if you know what I mean, mind you, all the guys with the same kit look the same, but if they all remained and then they died again and others still remained it would look like the apocalypse. You would have to make the bodys dissapear when the guy dies in another spot.
Stu007 is offline Reply With Quote
Old 2005-11-20, 21:38   #3
Enforcer1975

Leaving destroyed vehicles makes gameplay a lot better especially when fighting in a city. Imagine a destroyed tank blocking a street??

Makes attackers think twice of they want to go head on against infantry in narrow roads with a tank.
Enforcer1975 is offline Reply With Quote
Old 2005-11-20, 21:38   #4
GRB

The problem with the bodies staying longer is an issue with the game-engine that i dont think can be changed.