project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 Community Modding
07 Oct 2024, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Developer Blogs Members List Search Quick Links
PR:BF2 Community Modding Making or wanting help making your own asset? Check in here

Old 2022-05-30, 13:13   #1
Crylink
Arrow How to get started?

Hi , I was wondering what is the best way to practice modding project reality from a total beginner level.

I have basic background knowledge in c# and java coding.

I was hoping to try and make a mod where you can increase the zoom of the iron sights to get started.
Crylink is offline Reply With Quote
Old 2022-05-30, 13:37   #2
[R-DEV]Mats391
PR:BF2 Lead Developer
Supporting Member
PR Server License Administrator

Default Re: How to get started?

The ironsight zoom is done by editing the games memory at runtime. I fear c# and Java wont get you far with that. You probably will have more success starting off working with the bf2 con/tweak logic or the server side python. Both give you more insight into how the engine work which will help you if you ever want to get into modifying bf2 code directly.

Mineral: TIL that Wire-guided missiles actually use wire
Mats391 is offline Reply With Quote
Old 2022-05-30, 13:58   #3
Crylink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats391 View Post
The ironsight zoom is done by editing the games memory at runtime. I fear c# and Java wont get you far with that. You probably will have more success starting off working with the bf2 con/tweak logic or the server side python. Both give you more insight into how the engine work which will help you if you ever want to get into modifying bf2 code directly.
-what is "bf2 con/tweak logic" and how do I access it

-"server side python" can I access it on a local server? and how?

EDIT - Alright so I found this - https://www.realitymod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14468

is it a good thing to start with or is there something im missing?