project reality header
Go Back   Project Reality Forums > PR:BF2 Mod Forums > PR:BF2 General Discussion
19 Sep 2024, 00:00:00 (PRT)
Register Developer Blogs Members List Search Quick Links
PR:BF2 General Discussion General discussion of the Project Reality: BF2 modification.

Old 2024-04-14, 17:41   #1
deathgivercola
Default 3 man standard crew for tanks and APCs?

Hey all, so I’m fairly new to playing in assets squads. I was wondering why is it not standard to have a crew of 3 for most assets (driver, gunner, commander)? From my recent experiences, it seems like the lack of a commander seat/role in the vehicle hamstrings the effectiveness a little.

Especially now that the PR team has gotten around the hard 8 seat limit for vehicles, I think a 3rd crewman spot for a dedicated commander for tanks, APCs, and other AFVs would maybe improve asset gameplay. I think it would help to have a commander spot for added situational awareness and to help aleviate the problem of a diver/commander or gunner/commander.

Basically the commander seat would have a periscope 360 view of the vehicle (and control and pintle mounted mgs), tell the driver where to go and help the gunner scan for and prioritize targets. Also control any smoke launchers as well. The commander seat would also allow one crewman to focus on communications with other squads and vehicles in the squad as well

I’ve noticed that in game when the driver or gunner is also acting as the commander, the situational awareness and effectiveness is reduced, as the gunner/commander is too busy scanning and engaging targets to effectively communicate to the driver where to position the vehicle. Pretty much the same problem that real world afvs had when the commander had more roles than commanding the vehicle, I.e. getting distracted with other tasks and losing situational awareness.

But I also get that I’m pretty new and shit at assets, so it might just be a personal issue lol.